top of page
Search

Vegetarian Butternut Squash Soup with Crème Fraiche and Thyme



This Vegetarian Butternut Squash Soup is the best fall soup EVER, perfect for all your holiday menu planning. Topped of with a dollop of creme fraiche, it is lusciously delicious. Ready in less than an hour and can be made a day in advance. Need a quick visual? Be sure to watch how I make this healthy butternut squash soup recipe in the video below.




vegetarian butternut squash soup recipe



Made recipe exactly as set out but found that the soup was rather bland. Definitely needed salt (know this is a personal choice) but also added ground cumin to give it a bit of a kick. Would definitely make it again, with the adjustments mentioned!


My butternut squash soup is ultra creamy and full of complex roasted butternut squash flavor. This recipe has become a smash hit with readers, receiving a 5-star rating from well over 500 reviews!


This traditional butternut squash soup will round out your fall and winter meals. Serve it with grilled cheese sandwiches and salads through the end of winter. Keep it in mind for the holidays, too. I designed this soup to complement typical Thanksgiving fare, like green beans and mashed potatoes.


If you are working with an immersion blender: Cook the shallot mixture in a large soup pot. Then add the scoops of cooked butternut squash, all 4 cups of broth, maple syrup, nutmeg and a few twists of freshly ground black pepper. Bring the mixture to a simmer and cook, stirring occasionally, for 15 to 20 minutes so the flavors have a chance to meld. Carefully use your immersion blender to blend the soup completely, then add 1 to 2 tablespoons butter or olive oil, to taste, and blend again. Taste and blend in more salt and pepper, if necessary.


I made this last night and will be making it again. I am used to butternut squash soup recipes that use coconut milk so this was a change and I enjoyed it. I used fresh nutmeg and grated a little extra on top. I really liked making it in the Vitamix. Your recipes are the go to recipes at our family gatherings.


I had to make a lot of fixes to this. It takes much, much less than 1/2 tsp. oil to coat your squash. Garlic needs to cook at least several minutes to lose its bitter raw flavor. Every pureed soup since the dawn of man involves simmering your sauteed vegetables in stock, if only for a little while, BEFORE you stick them in the blender. As for flavor, well, I doctored mine with apple cider vinegar, more maple syrup, and a dash of hot to make it palatable.


I made this tonight. Roasted the squash first then followed recipe exactly. It was really thick, so I added about a cup of almond milk at the end to thin it out. Also added paprika and a lot of salt and pepper and my family loved it.


I made this recipe last year with cubes butternut squash and absolutely loved it! This year I found canned pureed butternut squash would we be able to replace it with that? How can we substitute with the puree?


I have been making this soup for Thanksgiving every year for the last 6 years. It is always a family favorite! I buy pre-cut butternut squash, which saves a ton of time, and make in the crockpot. It never disappoints!


This soup is easy and makes you feel so cozy on a cold,, winter day. I buy the mirepoix mix pre-cut to save time and cubed butternut squash as well. These shortcuts significantly reduce the prep time without sacrificing taste.


This butternut squash super is delicious!! I put a few things in it since it was a tad bit bland. I added a little more sage, cayenne pepper, added some rosemary, added a bay leave and put some brown sugar in it and it is so yummy!!


First time making,was not as sweet as I thought it would be. Something was missing. Tonight I made it again and added maple syrup. I let it cool and I am eating my 3rd bowl of it. Topped with walnuts. So good.! Next time will roast butternut squash.


This is just what the doctor ordered when you've been going too hard on the meats and cheeses. This comforting, ginger-laced soup just so happens to be vegan, and is exactly what we want when we feel like we've been overindulging a bit. If you've always thought you needed to own a $500 blender or have hours to spare to make a luxuriously silky puréed vegetable soup, well, you don't! We made a super smooth soup using a $40 Black & Decker blender. Just make sure the butternut squash is completely tender before it goes in the blender.


Add squash and give everything a stir to coat. Add 3 cups water, or enough to just submerge the squash, remaining coconut milk in can, and 2 tsp. salt, then stir to combine. Raise heat to high and bring soup to a boil.


Your fall soup lineup just got a lot cozier with this super easy Vegan Butternut Squash Soup! Although it takes some time to prep and roast the squash, the rest of this soup is so easy it practically makes itself!


This is the best Roasted Vegan Butternut Squash Soup you'll ever taste. It's easy to make, super creamy and also healthy! Made with roasted butternut squash, ginger, garlic, onion, and tomato, this soup is deliciously dairy-free and gluten-free too!


Ultimately, this really is the best butternut squash soup recipe I've had. It's spicy, from the ginger, and so creamy without using cream. It's vegan, gluten-free, paleo and so easy to make. To me, this is the perfect vegan butternut squash soup and I know you're going L-O-V-E it!!


Once you've roasted the veggies, scoop out the squash and add the rest of the veggies into a blender. Add the ginger and broth and blend it up until it's smooth and creamy! You can also make the soup with an immersion blender if you prefer.


Slow-roasting butternut squash really brings out its delicate flavor more than sautéing it in a pan. It will soften, caramelize and release its natural, nutty sweetness. I tend to use less seasoning too because the flavor just really shines on its own.


This vegan butternut squash soup is definitely a meal all on its own but it also pairs nicely with a meal or side dish. It goes well with rice dishes, sandwiches, wraps, and salads, or just serve it up with a handful of crackers or a piece of crusty artisan bread, or vegan cornbread and a pat of vegan butter.


The flavor of this vegan butternut squash soup is so easy to change so feel free to experiment. Here's another way I like to cook it: Omit the ginger, cumin, and carrots and replace them with cup dry white wine, 1 tablespoon chopped fresh sage, and one diced tart apple. You can omit or leave in the nutmeg and cinnamon.


Bake for 10-15 minutes or until slightly golden. Stir every 5 minutes for even roasting and watch carefully to prevent burning. Turn down the heat if necessary. I usually roast the seeds after the squash is finished and while the soup is cooking.


Great recipe! I have made this several times and make adjustments to my taste. Recommend cilantro as a topping, for those that like cilantro. Adds good texture and complements the soup well. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.


This is the best butternut recipe although admittedly I went free range with it! I doubled the curry powder and went heavy on the chili garlic. Skipped the sugars and used 2/3 can full fat coconut milk as well as turkey bone broth from our Thanksgiving turkey.


Oh my goodness this is now my favorite butternut squash soup! It just adds a little more flavor than regular squash soups (in my opinion). The entire family loved it. I served it with a side of roasted brussels sprouts mixed with walnuts and dried cranberries.


This is a wonderful and easy to prepare soup. Since our garden produced an abundance of various types of squash this year, I used a combination (Butternut, Acorn, Buttercup, Delicata, Hubbard etc)and just roasted big batches of them to use in your recipe. I have enjoyed taking containers of soup to our neighbors and the comments are unanimously VERY positive. I have passed on this recipe to many! Thanks for expanding my spice repertoire!


Delicious, easy and nutritious! This one comes together super fast. Quickly whipped it up for a light Sunday lunch. I did use roasted butternut squash from earlier in the weekend (used for MBs Butternut Squash Pasta) but still followed all the steps to merge the flavors well. Homemade veg broth, skipped the chili (hoping my toddler will eat the soup), added a smidge of nutmeg, and went light on the maple syrup. Fantastic and well balanced flavor. Filling and pretty to look at it and rivals any restaurant butternut squash soup!


This was such a delicious soup and so easy! I roasted and puréed the butternut squash ahead of time so all I had to do the night of the meal was combine all the ingredients in a pot and let it boil for 15-20 minutes. Quick and easy but so much flavor! Because it is so light on protein/calories, I may try some variations mentioned by other comments to bulk it up but very yummy as is! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!


Grind up a little bit FLAX SEED and sprinkle over the soup in your bowl for extra added health benefits. Great recipe and easy to modify (red hot chili pepper, thyme, chives, sweet potato, carrot) with things in your garden. Tumeric or a bit of other middle eastern spices can make this even more interesting. ThankYou MB for what you do !!


This is my go-to recipe for butternut squash soup. I make it at least once a month. Everything about the recipe is perfect! Wonderful with a piece of crusty bread and some olive oil drizzled on top + green onions. Thank you!


This butternut squash soup is just so good. I used homemade broth from roasted vegetables (I omitted the fresh tomatoes that the recipe called for); I used organic coconut milk. I had no shallots but used a small onion diced small. I added one tsp of the chili garlic paste, and 3 tablespoons of the maple syrup. I think less would be better, but no matter. This is a definite keeper recipe. Thank you so much for sharing it with the world!


I made this today for dinner. It was perfect! I had pre-cut butternut squash that I wanted to use up. I had all the other ingredients in my fridge. It hit the spot for my taste buds, stomach, and the cold weather. THANK YOU! 2ff7e9595c


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page